See Colorado’s largest show cave at Glenwood Caverns!
USA Today rated Glenwood Caverns
“One of the Top 10 Places to Go Underground!”
Once marketed as the Eighth Wonder of the World for its stunning underground scenery, Glenwood Caverns has been mesmerizing visitors since the day it was discovered by C.W. Darrow in 1885. Originally called the Fairy Caves, Darrow saw commercial potential in the caves and was the first to initiate tours. The winds of fortune did not favor Darrow however, and tours ceased sometime in the mid-1910s which closed the caves to the public for more than 80 years, though they continued to be explored privately with permission from the owners.
The current owners, Steve and Jeanne Beckley , took essential steps to reopen the caves to the public. They repaired damage done by vandals, installed airlock doors to preserve the cave habitat, created safe walkways for visitors and added lighting to showcase the breathtaking formations.
Since 1999, Glenwood Caverns has been welcoming the visitors to see the spectacular natural wonders hidden inside Iron Mountain. If time permits, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park recommends visitors take both the Historic Fairy Cave and King’s Row tours. Both tours, as well as unlimited turns on rides and attractions, are included in a Glenwood Caverns Funday Pass. The first cave tour begins approximately 60 minutes after park opens.